Of all the Hayley Annes in the World, You’re the Hayley Anniest…

Life is about the journey, not the destination.

I really wish I always applied this to life. It’s hard though, when you live in a destination-oriented culture. It’s all about getting to the peak, not how you get there. No longer are the days of savoring time, of appreciating each moment as it comes, not just waiting for it to pass. Destination orientation can be dangerous, how else do you develop a cut-throat society with everyone grasping for power? You lose sight of the journey.

Living the journey’s not always easy… I am a person who does not like change in my personal life. I love to re-arrange my room, or cut my hair, or do my makeup a different way, but when it comes to people growing up, people moving, people getting married, me growing up, life changing; it really messes with me. This is why I HATE crossroads. Crossroads make life seem so changeable, so… intense. Anyone will tell you, I’m opinionated and independent, but “intense” is NOT a word that describes me… most of the time. Regardless…

… Sorry, Frodo was saying good-bye to Sam, and I had to stop and cry with them…

As I was saying, crossroads make me feel all sad and negative nostalgia-y. Some are worse than others. I encountered one of theses crossroads just the other day. I was sitting outside, thinking about the end of summer, thinking about my looming –th birthday, thinking about starting college, when a thought went through my mind, “I know crossroads are an important part of life, but why does this one have to feel so ‘crossroad-ish’?” (I like to pull out the melodrama now and again).

But that’s just it! On a journey you must have crossroads. Places of beginnings and ends, not destinations. The beautiful thing is, that while a destination is static, no growth or opportunity, even the most beginniest beginning can turn into wonderful story, and even the endiest end can have a sequel. I know my journey will lead me into crazy things, or even boring things, but it will also have wonderful things. I don’t want to sit by myself, frozen at a destination, thinking I’m done with life and all that’s in it because I reached the flag. I want to travel the journey, to join the fellowship… cough cough… sorry… cough cough, to take the road of life by the horns, to take the adventure, until that one day when I will reach a destination, a destination that doesn’t end, but continues on for eternity :).

My crossroad looks a little more like a great and grand adventure now, eh? Find your adventure dear friends…

Always keep those heads in the clouds~

-HH-

2 thoughts on “Of all the Hayley Annes in the World, You’re the Hayley Anniest…

  1. Ruby Jean Hopkins says:

    Oh so true… and I’m the same way. I feel like we’re sitting in the plainest, quietest life where the only thing that concerns us is what kind of games we’re going to play the next day, or whether or not we’ll see our best friend. And then we wake up one day and find a new reality staring us in the face – iron-like, until we see its beauty. New concerns and troubles – the throes of life. And sometimes we seem to feel so bad about losing the past life that we can’t look with joy and readiness and hope upon the new thing awaiting us.

    Life really is an adventure… and whoever heard of someone refusing an adventure? One would think that person… not only unadventurous… but clingy. Clingy to something that will die, that will fade… That’s the reason we must take adventures – because everything fades, and we must constantly be finding the new and the old, till we finally meet up with that which is both new and old, because it is never-ending. 🙂

  2. Pingback: head in the clouds

Leave a Reply

